Posted by: ihlos | November 10, 2008

Talent Page Rework

natural-armor It feels good to be able to check things off my To Do list for the site. With Northrend opening soon, I felt it important to get the northrend bestiary updated for the pets page.

Next, I set my sights on the Talents page, as I knew you were all going to need some good builds for the expansion content. That, and I really felt like the builds were already outdated. As I have used my tenacity pets in more functions, I have started to see things a little more clearly. The old builds were based largely on my beta experience, and they needed to be reworked. So head on over there and check em out, and let me know if you have any comments, questions, or if you just flat out disagree. I’m open to discussion!

Let the Hunt begin!

Responses

  1. Gone are the days of everyone having to take Mortal Shots. With its changes and the new talent of careful aim, I can’t think of one good reason to take MS over careful aim.

    Careful aim = more AP for pets anyway.

    http://www.wowhead.com/?talent=cVbG0ggRfuhest0eMb
    this is more what i as thinking as far as a pet oriented spec.

  2. You bring up an interesting point. I don’t know if careful aim is better for dps, but in a pet focused build it would seem to be better, unless you have T5 bonus at which point you could argue that the extra healing from crits might be more useful as extra healing boosts.

    But you get 100% of int as ap, meaning your pet would get 22% of your int as ap, and that ap would mean more damage which also figures into the t5 bonus.

    I would agree with your build for pet focus i think. I didnt even consider not taking mortal shots to be honest. I had already written off a previous version of careful aim.

  3. yes, this is also good because it moves even more talent points into a pet beneficial talent.

    now there are only 8 talent points that dont directly benefit your pet.

  4. With good enough crit, wouldn’t Invigoration be better than Bestial Discipline?

    If you have good crit, your pet will not have a problem with focus. And you get more mana back to sustain your dps without switching viper.

  5. Really, the Invigoration talent is a lackluster one all around. A 50/50 shot at 2% mana is simply not a good enough reason to give up pet focus. You may believe it will keep you out of viper more and save you, but even with the changes to viper you will not save enough time out of viper to make a real difference.

    The question I have is the FI choice. If you are speccing for a 10 man raid or leveling I can still see picking FI up. But if you are a 25 man raider you simply do not need these points. Sanctified Retribution (Improved Ret Aura) does not stack with FI. Simply put in raids with Ret pallies this is a useless talent. Not only is paladins up 100% of the time regardless of the hunter pet being active on the boss, but we could use these points to cap other talents or pick up Aspect Mastery which in and of itself would be a good thing just to pick up Dragonhawk.

    Of course that is purely dependant on what your guild makeup is. But from a personal DPS side you will gain more than 3% damage overall with Aspect Mastery and 4/5 or 5/5 Mortal Shots than you would by using those 3 points in FI.

  6. What are the benefits of having Hawk vs Beast?

    Personally I like using AotB when my pet is tanking. Make the growl slightly lower, but I feel like it increases the dps, and thus the aggro from that.

    With AotB, the Aspect Mastery is quite useless. Hopefully they will include it in there in the future.

    Jericho, with 30% crit, focus isn’t a problem with GftT. More crits = more focus = more pet crits = more mana.

  7. Hawk = more combined DPS
    Beast = more DPS for pet

    I did some bonus to AP values for both aspects my post on it can be found at:

    http://forums.tkasomething.com/showthread.php?t=13931&page=3

  8. Jericho, I see where you are coming from. The hunter build is an example of a build that picks up all the pet beneficial talents in a cohesive build. FI is 3% more damage for the pet overall, which means 3% more damage from swings and specials, and more threat.

    Obviously though, if other players have a similar talent, you would be free to spend the talent in any number of ways.

    The hunter build that I have on the page is completely focused on the pet there are only two full talents and one half talent that do not benefit the pet in some way. Ironically, with a gorilla and enough aoe opportunity, this build isn’t that bad for DPS if you aren’t needed as a tank, so yay, we win!

    Thanks for the feedback =)


Leave a Reply

Categories

