Posted by: ihlos | December 2, 2008

Pet Feat: Halls of Lightning (MT)

nordh-halls-of-lightning

Who: Nordhbane of The Maelstrom (80)
Pet: Umtokk (80 Gorilla)
Group:
77 Druid (Feral dps)
80 Priest (Disc Healer)
80 Priest (Shadow)
80 Hunter

Details: Achievement Earned:
Northrend Dungeon Tankmaster 100 points

I’m finally done with all normal dungeons tanked =)

I tried Halls of Lightning on lvl 78 with Gorilla on 77, with a group at the same level. It didn’t work out too well. The first boss is truly the hardest and he hits very hard. This time around we skipped all the CC on the first boss and I just tanked all three, we killed the adds first and then the boss himself. He still hits quite hard so be wary.
The second boss was a pure pushover with our group, we pulled the adds away from him, and kited them a bit and killed them. They explode if they are too close to each other or something according to the healer who was the only one that had been there before.
The third boss was just irrirating. Tank and spank, and then he turns into all these small blobs all the time that you just run away from. Wasn’t even threatening those blobs.
The last boss was interesting, but easy. All you had to do was run in and stand close (you can stand so you can shoot him), and then he does a very short range AoE that you run out from (disengage). I moved my pet out, it was only 5 yards away, and still didn’t get hit. And even so, with the -75% AoE damage to it, I doubt anything horrible would happen if it just continues to stand there building threat.

There’s one thing in the instance that can be tricky. There’s a hallway with statues that come to life. Since they come from all directions it’s hard to get aggro on them all. One side your pet can take, use misdirection on those behind you. And try to stay back from the next section, or you will get feared into that and you will have yet another 1 or even 2 packs on you. I know, because it happened to us πŸ˜‰ The druid popped bear and helped me tank them, and they were never really that threatening, just hard to control, that’s all.

Feels so nice to have completed them all. Now on to heroics and raids. =)

Other Hunters who have completed this feat:
No additional submission to date

Responses

  1. I did normal HoL last night. That last boss? We did not even bother running out. And the pet I brought (a gorilla but we had a druid tank) barely took any damage even on the AoE. I don’t have full reduction from talents for it. You could have left him in without a problem.

    Gunsnbutter Excelsior/Uther

  2. Yeah, figured as much.

    Ihlos, I did some shameless plugging for your site:
    http://www.warcraftmovies.com/movieview.php?id=95571

  3. i’ve tried to look up nordhbane on the WoW armory and it can’t find you… I have a 70 hunter on Maelstrom RPPVP server and was curious… is nordhbane your char name?

  4. I saw that nordh

    I appreciate it πŸ™‚

  5. Azure, need to look at the wow europe armory to find me. πŸ˜‰

    The Maelstrom in EU isn’t RPPvP, it’s pure PvP.

    I believe this link goes to my char, but the site is down for maintenance, so I can’t tell for sure if it’s correct:
    http://eu.wowarmory.com/character-sheet.xml?n=Nordhbane&r=The+Maelstrom

  6. ahh.. i knew there was a reason
    I’m on the US “Maelstrom” server lol.
    Well anyway you,durante, and kamakazaay are an inspiration to Pet tankers.
    Keep up the good work.

  7. Don’t forget Ihlos πŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

Categories

