Posted by: ihlos | December 4, 2008

An Accidental Tank

natural-armor Erin Go Bragh Emailed me this wonderfully entertaining story, so I thought I would share it with you 🙂 It’s always fun to break the mold, but that’s what we are all about here, isn’t it?

Howdy,

Eringobragh from Farstriders here. Just wanted to relay my experience in Gundrak last night. After waiting for 20 minutes for a healer to join us, we decided to clear a few mobs sans healer. I suggest letting the pet tank to avoid player deaths and let our Protection Pally help heal until the healer is ready for a summon.

The mobs are going down easy with me, the Boomkin and Ret Pally AoEing like crazy. The Protection Pally is considering a career change when he sees the heals he is putting out (until I explain the +50% healing on my gorilla). All the snakes are dead, “Oh look a boss.”

Why not? So we throw caution to the wind and attack Slad’ran. His health drops rapidly to 33%, but the last third takes twice as long as everyone but Finn and the Boomkin are wrapped in snake bubbles. Still easy fight all and all.

Ok guess we move on. Few more easy mob clears and we are to the Drakkari Colossus. I was thinking wipe for sure, but the fight was over almost before it started. Finn held up great, holding aggro on the Colossus and the elemental summons while we stood at range and fired at will.

Half way to Moorabi, the healer is ready for a summon. “Thanks but no thanks.” We are having too much fun. Moorabi goes down quicker than the last 2 bosses and drops the plate chest. Ret pally says, “let the gorilla tank have it.” Yep, good stuff.

We get all the way to the stairs before the final boss, before we have our first and only player death. The Boomkin is feeling cocky (we all are at this point), and pulls the Rhino we are not tanking. I don’t catch it right away and Boomkin goes splat. Pally quickly resurrects and on to Gal’darah. I send in the pet with a Mend and Bestial wraith, pop my Misdirect, Scorpid Sting and drums of battle and fire away. Finn never goes below 30% as both the pally and i keep the heals up.

Four players all in the level range of the dungeon- None Healer Specced. Wow. Only advice, keep up the Mends and Misdirects.

Who: Eringobragh of Farstriders (78)
Pet: Finn (78 Gorilla)
Group:
78 Druid (Balance)
76 Pally (Protection)
76/77 Pally (Retribution)

Can pets tank heroics? Ya, I’d bet on it.

Responses

  1. Well done =)

    Had you specced for pet tanking with extra dodge and so on?

  2. Yes, but not directly. Specced for AoE leveling with Gorilladin. My armory is linked in the body of the original post. The pets spec is straight tank spec, so yes. I had 18600 Health and Finn had 17000± after all buffs, food and scrolls. No elixirs… but next time, lol. (Also no tier 5 bonus)

    I’m actually interested in pushing the other side of the envelope. Instead of MT raids and heroics, I’d like to see how few people it would take to run the dungeons with a gorilla tank. I’m guessing all of the regular dungeons will eventually be 2 manned with a gorilla/BM and a healer.

    From there it would be interesting to push into heroic and raid content with the same approach if at all possible. I’m guessing a 10 man with a hunter MT and hunter OT would be epic with maybe 4 or 5 others including healers. 🙂

    Someday it will happen.

    Probably not by me, but it will happen, lol.

  3. Awesome story. Just a heads up, drums do nothing if you are past level 70. It’s on the tooltip.

  4. Thanks Kamaakazy.

    Actually the Drums of Battle tool tip is everything below 80 ;).

  5. DUh, Retribution Pally not “Retention.” My bad. Obviously this hunter doesn’t play any pally alts.


Leave a Reply

Categories

