Posted by: ihlos | September 29, 2009

Busy and Brewfest

stamina -Picture Unrelated- Well, I havent written but once this entire month. I have been going through what is easily the most difficult time I have ever gone through. Good news is i am still intact, both physically and mentally.

One thing I did want to mention is that if you haven’t gotten a chance to tank a brewfest run yet, get on it! It’s not very challenging, my turtle wasn’t taking much damage, especially with shell shield up. I threw on some pvp gear and an ap flask and tried to maximize threat. Overall it went very well, only losing aggro once or twice, with a quick taunt to fix that. Of course, it was with all guildies so yeah, they knew the drill.

It was fun, and maybe it did some good on the ‘political capital’ front, but mostly it was just fun. The great part is that there is no pressure because its not seen as a serious encounter, and its just a tank and spank with an extra mob thrown in half way through. The encounter is short enough that if you just ask people to wait 3 seconds, they shouldn’t be able to catch you. Also, there is no gear requirements, so half your group won’t be able to catch you ever.

Anyways, anyone else take a crack at tanking this guy?

Responses

  1. Welcome back 🙂

  2. Multiple times, been tanking this guy. It makes for an easy tank, really. I lose aggro at times from him having his head ‘bucketed’, but otherwise it’s not too bad, long as I can grab aggro before someone else gets froggy. 🙂

    Also, reminder to tankers who read the front page: two of the highest stamina trinkets in game drop from this boy (+170 stamina). The only higher is from TotC, and let’s face it: there’s going to be a great many tanks jumping for those before us. 😉

  3. Yeah, I tanked that special boss a few times. Once, the healer didn’t even realize what was going on, and I solo healed him with his shield up. 😉

    I also got both trinkets. I don’t use them for all tanking jobs, but they’re good for when threat gen isn’t an issue. Them, plus a new pair of PvP pants gets me over 30k health in a 5man.

    The later you do the brewboss, the more likely everyone else will have the trinkets and wont care about you grabbing them even if you are not tanking.

  4. Somewhat related, I tanked him on my lock (mix stam/pvp gear with Voidwalker buffing up to 37k health).
    My hunter is lvl 61 now, can’t wait to get to 80 and add him to my stable of tanks (80 pally/ DK tanks too).

  5. A little OT, but MMO-Champ just posted updates for the 3.3 PTR build, including:

    “Cower is now a one-rank ability and reduces damage taken by 40%. While cowering, your pet’s movement speed is reduced by 50%.”

    • And even better, since I liked swapping between my bawr and turtle:
      * Call Stabled Pet: Cooldown reduced from 30 minutes to 5 minutes.


Leave a Reply

Categories

