Posted by: TheLastDeadMouse | January 21, 2010

Pet Feat: Naxxramas 10 – Sapphiron (MT)

This one was originally submitted by Darkynhalvos back just before the new year by emailing to Ihlos, when then sent it to me a week ago. While Ihlos is on his sabbatical anyone wanting to contact the blog should use the Durante contact info I sneaked up on the on the contact page which is checked twice a week. On a personal note, the nice clear pet damage in display is definitely tempting me to finally bite the bullet and get the real scrolling combat text instead of using the built in version.

Who: Darkynhalvos of Whisperwind (80)
Pet: Sherman (80 bear)
Group: Northern Express raid
Boss: Sapphiron, Naxx 10

Details: Roughly 2-3 months ago, my friend and I convinced the other people in our guild run of 10-man Naxx to let me try tanking Sapphiron, after I showed him the video of Durante doing it with Bubbles in 25-man. Wasn’t too difficult, considering pets can be uncrittable. Biggest hit Sherman took was about 8k. Fully buffed he had 35,671 hp. DPS had to watch threat at the start of the fight, held their attacks until 10-15 secs after the fight started, in part because I was the only hunter (only MD). DPS was able to let loose as usual after Sapph was about half dead.

Big thanks to Durante and Bubbles for the video that inspired me to try this, hopefully I can get my guild to let me try tanking more often.

Responses

  1. Well done!

  2. Name of the addon that shows pet damage so clearly is MikScrollingBattleText.

    Tank gear has been upgraded quite a bit, in the Sapph fight gear was mostly 213 gear with 2 or 3 pieces of VoA gear (pvp). Now it consists of mostly 232 pvp gear plus a couple 245 pieces.

    Changed tank spec around to provide more threat, as I was lacking GftT in the earlier build, didn’t know a lot at that time.

    Raid buffed, tank pets and I break 40k easily, haven’t been able to test in 25-mans yet, might get close to 45k.

    Now to find a grp of ppl who will let me try to fill in some of the gaps in the Feats section =)


Leave a Reply

Categories

